30 Days of Kink – Day #17: Misconceptions about BDSM

5289853-so-in-love-with-this-cool-cat

I am going to use this beautiful picture as a display of our uniqueness.

What misconception about kinky people would you most like to clear up?

We’re not freaks, we’re not weirdos, we’re not sex addicts or satanists. I come from a conservative catholic household so you’re talking to a guy that has heard his fair share of negative remarks from his parents about human sexuality. I once engaged my dad in a discussion about why the film Eyes Wide Shut was ‘filthy’.

I’ve stood across from people at parties and have listened to them talk about how having fetishes are ‘disgusting’, all the while biting my tongue. We’re not disgusting, we just have different tastes than you. If anything, we have opened our eyes to greater experiences, psychological or physical.

It’s not all about whips and chains and latex. We don’t all walk around in squeaky suits with piercings and listen to heavy metal. Actually, I love my metal but you won’t find me in latex. Yeesh.

It goes beyond the people though, I find that some people are just generally misinformed about everything relating to BDSM under the sun. I am going to rattle off a few things that come to mind here:

– Dominants are not psychotic all-abusing people.

– Fifty Shades of Grey should not be viewed as an accurate portrayal of BDSM or a D/s relationship.

– Submissive women are not weak at all, quite the contrary. They are stronger than you realise.

– A submissive or a Dominant can be either sex.

There are a few misconceptions about BDSM and kinky people out there. We need to squash these notions and teach the world.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Kink – Day #17: Misconceptions about BDSM

Leave a Reply

