The 1950’s Household in BDSM

ff2522c0e0e6dbf73dc22767ea53fd98

A few weeks ago, my submissive and I attended a Rockabilly Festival – a festival celebrating 50’s items from the gorgeous cars to the gorgeous dresses. Nancy Sinatra welcomed us to the festival with a melancholy rendition of Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) while we gazed upon the collection of memorabilia in each market stall.

Then it hit me: I rather like the idea of incorporating the 1950s Household elements into our life – and before I go into why, I want to go into just what IS the ‘1950s Household’ term and what does it mean for the D/s dynamic?

The 1950s household element is essentially a throwback to that time, where the man was the head of the household and the woman had next to no say. Her jobs consisted of being a dutiful wife around the house while making sure food was on the table when the man arrived home from work. The man would work all day and bring back the bacon, while the woman would see to the house. All in those pretty dresses and other accessories.

Obviously, we are not going to recreate this household to a T. However, there is that option should you choose that path. No, a lot of the fun for me comes from having that Dominance over the lady, while taking pleasure in seeing her feel compelled to do some daily tasks for me – I.E Clean my shoes, do the washing. My submissive enjoys cleaning for me, for reasons she couldn’t even tell you, except that she is compelled to do so. Maybe in future, I will get to wear one of those short 50s dresses while she does so? Heh.

lady_v_isabella_polkadot_dress_model_wide

 

Part of the fun comes in if she wants to rebel. I wouldn’t recommend THAT but should she choose to, she’ll get her punishment – and all in character, of course. Plus, it makes using my ties all the more intoxicating. and if ties don’t work, who remembers the bar of soap? Definitely looking forward to trying that one out, heh.

Then there’s the fashion. I love seeing my submissive in dresses replicated to look like they come from that era. My enjoyment of dressing her of a day is increased tenfold when she’s slipping into one of those dresses. Oh boy.

So why does this lifestyle appeal to me? That’s a good question. Certainly, the Dominant aspect of me thrives in this universe. In having this control and extending it to this particular area. But that’s one half of me? What about the vanilla side of me? This goes back into my childhood. My parents raised me on most of the music from those times and onwards. The Beach Boys, The Beatles, Herman’s Hermits, Elvis – so forth.

I have fondness for those times, for the cars, for the fashion and yeah, for the spirit. Even the movies, I enjoy. The science fiction pictures like Them! hold a special place in my heart. I don’t understand the thinking of men from that era but that’s years and years of knowledge being passed down and anyway, in the safe environment, it’s fun to explore.

So THIS might be the household for me, actually. I want to explore this part of our relationship, her desire to be a good ‘housewife’ and my desire to Dominate over her, not only in how we have before but in these new and exciting ways. Ways that may cause some revelations in our own minds the further into the rabbit hole we go.

 

 

22 thoughts on “The 1950’s Household in BDSM

  1. I have to say that the TIH and 1950’s is something that I hope to incorporate into my future relationship and I agree, there is something about dressing up for your man in those dresses while cooking, cleaning, and serving his every whim that makes a sub feel so wonderfully submissive.

    Like

  2. Having grown up at the very end of that era, I remember vividly the look, feel and even the smells of the households that were a part of my youth.

    I must admit that most were the unhinged variety, but the one that burned into my subconscious mind was the household of my paternal grandparents! They were magnificent at D/s and had no idea they were living it. They are without doubt the two people who engraved the desire to surrender/submit on my heart.

    The total devotion, non-conflicting roles, and exquisite demonstrations of love planted a seed that I am now harvesting.

    However I will not, repeat, will not scrub toilets in pearls. 😜

    Like

  3. I love some of the concepts of the 50s, but while I will serve Sir and am available for his every wish and desire, I will NOT return to the “women have no say” part of that time. I try my very best to be the sub He needs, but I am still a strong, independent woman with my own thoughts and opinions. I am His sub, NOT his lap-dog.

    Like

  4. Women had a say in the 1950s household. Who do you think ran the house while the man worked all day? Yes, she was subservient, the one who cooked for him (while he just came home and took his place at table) but she was the one who decided what they ate for dinner, how the food was prepared. She was the one who raised the children…you say she had no say, I say she had a lot of responsibility, whether anybody admitted it or not.

    Like

      1. Men were men and women were women in the fifties household, before Gloria Steinem encouraged the women to want to be men. So while women in the fifties household didn’t get a say in how the household income was invested/spent (because the man was in charge of the money) they (the women) had responsibilities far more important (those of raising children) and things got done in the fifties household…the money got taken care of, the children got raised, and no hell broke loose. It worked. Until feminism came and told women to fix what wasn’t broken, and now nothing works. So like I first said, the fifties household is not a bad way to live.

        Like

  5. I find the rockabilly pin -up girl style totally sexy and could see how working that into a household would be great fun. I think the difference between a healthy 50’s style head of household environment lies in defining the difference between a Dominant man and a tyrant.

    Like

    1. Absolutely, miss. You are quite right. That’s where the transition between that ugly 50s household sort of moulds into the concept for a D/s relationship. I would never support or condone such behaviour from a man, ever.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s a great look; the winged eye and ruby red lips to kiss and polka dots, very fun. I’m a big fan of this style. The music for me though leans more toward punk-rockabilly true to Gen X I suppose. Looking forward to reading how this plays out in your household. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

