BDSM and Fifty Shades of Grey

Well, the Internet has well and truly exploded over Fifty Shades of Grey, the BDSM themed novel that began life as Twilight fan fiction.

The lonely housewives love it, others hate it and see it as a novel about abuse that is popular. Well, they’re probably right.

The novel is just not very good, let’s face it. It’s unsubtle erotica and a poor drama. BUT – here’s the thing. It’s good in the long run for one key purpose — It will introduce BDSM and D/s relationships to a mainstream audience.

Yeah it is horrendous but those women – they are going to go out and explore these sensations. Then they’re going to discover that a D/s is nothing like what the books portray, that the novel paints a lack of true understanding of a healthy and loving relationship.

So I don’t think Fifty shades needs to be bashed. There — I said it. Should it be avoided? Yeah, absolutely. Go pick up a copy of Captive in the Dark, a far more engaging BDSM themed novel. But this is not mainstream, not really. Fifty Shades of Grey has tapped into minds and perhaps fantasies of its female – even I’m sure Male – readers.
As a side note: Any male with a lick of sense will not be emotionally or physically abusive towards his submissive. He will excel beyond what Christian Grey is.

A D/s relationship and the sexual fantasies of BDSM that are connected to it can be ignored, as the fantasies involved can be quite brutal and frowned upon in circles. But hopefully this novel, no matter how bad, will be a portal to the beautiful world I and many others have witnessed for ourselves. It might even liberate someone, wake them up from their dying world. Who knows.

The novel might send them on a life changing journey and they’ll shed the skin of their old life and perhaps transcend into a life of D/s and BDSM. A life more beautiful and intimate than their regular old one.

4 thoughts on “BDSM and Fifty Shades of Grey

  1. You just described how I finally found the courage to explore this amazing, beautiful world. It didn’t take me long to see the difference between a good Dom and Grey and to make decisions accordingly. I’ve always felt a calling to this lifestyle but the taboos of society and my upbringing kept me from exploring it and my own sexuality. It wasn’t until I read Fifty Shades that I allowed myself to start this journey. Now I am growing in my sexuality and I have an amazing, loving Daddy. So I thank Fifty Shades very sincerely.

    Like

  2. I totally agree captive in the dark hits the nail on the head well for me anyway, love the relationship that was created by caleb and spohia so hot and tantalising , shades of grey sad slow and depressing couldn’t even finish it . to be so open and willing to give wholely knowing one will be cared for powerful as a sub handing over and becoming well anothers property to do with as he pleases is truly a great gift one that I love, pleasure and pain so closely intertwined so hot I crave his touch I beg for his touch I love igive I am his inside and out nad he is mine we are one

    Like

Leave a Reply

